Skip Navigation

The joy of knowledge

Oberlausitz Kulturentdeckerland oberlausitz_kulturentdeckerland_logo
The joy of knowledge

The joy of knowledge

Library of Sciences © Mario Kegel photok

Let yourself be drawn into the world of science of Nobel Prize winners and great researchers from Upper Lusatia.

Upper Lusatia can be experienced like an open book of eventful European history. Let yourself be drawn into the world of science, Upper Lusatian Nobel Prize winners and great researchers.

Discover the life's work of Lessing, Böhme, Scultetus or Prince von Pückler-Muskau and experience exciting chapters of European history in inspiring places. There is a wealth of knowledge and wisdom in the cultural treasures of Upper Lusatia!
Discover the fascinating cultural treasures of Upper Lusatia.

Upper Lusatia can be experienced like an open book of eventful European history.

Architectural gems or captivating places of knowledge, unique sacred sites and historically evolved craft traditions - from an icon of classical modernism to a world heritage landscape, Upper Lusatia is full of cultural highlights and unforgettable impressions.

Discover the fascinating cultural treasures of Upper Lusatia.

Upper Lusatian culture never goes on vacation

From top-class open-air concerts and events in summer to unique Sorbian traditions and Easter festivities to the atmospheric Christmas markets in Görlitz and Bautzen, Upper Lusatian culture never makes a vacation

- but makes yours a special experience - at any time of year!

Lessing's life's work

Gotthold Ephraim Lessing (1729-1781) is one of the pioneers of German national theater. There are around 1,000 translations of his works in 40 languages. "Nathan the Wise", "Minna von Barnhelm" and "Emilia Galotti" are among the most frequently performed stage classics. Lessing's fables are still popular with young and old alike and the ideals of the controversial Enlightenment philosopher are a current topic in schools and universities.
As Lessing's birthplace had been destroyed in a fire, the citizens of Kamenz built a new representative building and opened the museum for their great son in 1931.
 

Lessing Museum Kamenz

Collection of science and research

The Upper Lusatian Library of Sciences is one of the most important public collection and information centers between Dresden and Wroclaw. With its holdings, it supports science and research in particular. As a scientific regional library at the intersection of German and Polish historical research, the library collects the knowledge of past times and the treasure of the unifying cultural heritage. 

Upper Lusatian Library of Sciences

Monument to the industry

Open-cast mining and Lusatia - the two are inextricably linked. In the Knappenrode energy factory, you can find out just how important the treasures from the earth were and still are.
The grounds and buildings of the industrial museum used to house the Werminghoff briquette factory. Today you will find a modern exhibition that takes you on a journey through time.

Knappenrode energy factory

Surprisingly diverse

Unique in Germany - important for Europe: these are the two Zittau Lenten cloths. Created in 1472, the large Lenten cloth in the Church of the Holy Cross tells stories from the Bible in 90 pictures. The Small Lenten Veil from 1573 in the Franciscan Monastery Museum depicts the crucifixion of Christ in large format. In the former monastery, you can wander through medieval chambers such as the church and cloister. An extension from the 17th century houses the former council library with a  collection of rarities that has grown over the centuries in a baroque chamber of art and curiosities. The monastery church houses the unique epitaph treasure, a collection of memorial tablets from the 16th to 18th centuries.

Zittau municipal museums

© 2024 Marketing-Gesellschaft
Oberlausitz-Niederschlesien mbH

With partnership support from the districts of Bautzen and Görlitz
and regional savings banks.

Skip Navigation

Freude am Wissen

Oberlausitz Kulturentdeckerland oberlausitz_kulturentdeckerland_logo
Freude am Wissen

Freude am Wissen

Bibliothek der Wissenschaften © Mario Kegel photok

Lass Dich reinziehen in die Welt der Wissenschaft Oberlausitzer Nobelpreisträger und großer Forscher.

Die Oberlausitz lässt sich wie ein offenes Buch bewegter europäischer Geschichte erleben. Lass Dich reinziehen in die Welt der Wissenschaft, Oberlausitzer Nobelpreisträger und großer Forscher.

Entdecke das Lebenswerk von Lessing, Böhme, Scultetus oder Fürst von Pückler-Muskau und erlebe spannende Kapitel der europäischen Geschichte an inspirierenden Orten. In den Kulturschätzen der Oberlausitz steckt eine ganze Menge Wissen und Weisheit!
Entdecke die faszinierenden Kulturschätze der Oberlausitz.

Die Oberlausitz lässt sich wie ein offenes Buch bewegter europäischer Geschichte erleben.

Architektonische Perlen oder fesselnde Orte des Wissens, einzigartige sakrale Stätten und historisch gewachsene Handwerkstraditionen – die Oberlausitz steckt von einer Ikone der Klassischen Moderne bis zur Welterbelandschaft voller kultureller Highlights und unvergesslicher Eindrücke.

Entdecke die faszinierenden Kulturschätze der Oberlausitz.

Die Oberlausitzer Kultur macht niemals Urlaub

Von hochkarätig besetzten Open-Air-Konzerten und Veranstaltungen im Sommer über einzigartige sorbische Tradition und Osterfestlichkeiten bis zu den atmosphärischen Weihnachtsmärkten in Görlitz und Bautzen, die Oberlausitzer Kultur macht niemals Urlaub

– dafür Deinen zu einem besonderen Erlebnis – zu jeder Jahreszeit!

Lebenswerk von Lessing

Gotthold Ephraim Lessing (1729 bis 1781) gehört zu den Wegbereitern des deutschen Nationaltheaters. Von seinen Werken liegen rund 1.000 Übersetzungen in 40 Sprachen vor. "Nathan der Weise", "Minna von Barnhelm" und "Emilia Galotti" gehören zu den meistgespielten Bühnenklassikern. Auch sind Lessings Fabeln bei Jung und Alt noch immer beliebt und die Ideale des streitbaren Aufklärers ein aktuelles Thema in Schulen sowie an Universitäten.
Da Lessings Geburtshaus bei einem Brand vernichtet worden war, bauten die Bürgen der Stadt Kamenz ein neues repräsentatives Gebäude und eröffneten darin 1931 das Museum für ihren großen Sohn.
 

Lessingmuseum Kamenz

Sammlung von Wissenschaft und Forschung

Die Oberlausitzsche Bibliothek der Wissenschaften ist eine der wichtigsten öffentlichen Sammlungs- und Informationszentren zwischen Dresden und Breslau. Mit ihren Beständen unterstützt sie insbesondere Wissenschaft und Forschung. Als wissenschaftliche Regionalbibliothek im Schnittpunkt deutscher und polnischer Geschichtsforschung versammelt die Bibliothek das Wissen vergangener Zeiten und den Schatz des verbindenden kulturellen Erbes. 

Oberlausitzer Bibliothek der Wissenschaften

Denkmal der Industrie

Tagebau und Lausitz, diese beiden gehören untrennbar zusammen. Wie wichtig die Schätze aus der Erde waren und noch immer sind erfahren Sie in der Energiefabrik Knappenrode.
Das Gelände und die Gebäude des Industriemuseums beherbergten früher die Brikettfabrik Werminghoff. Heute finden Sie eine moderne Ausstellung, die Sie mit auf eine Zeitreise nimmt.

Energiefabrik Knappenrode

Überraschend vielfältig

Einzigartig in Deutschland - bedeutend für Europa: Das sind die beiden Zittauer Fastentücher. 1472 erschaffen, erzählt das Große Fastentuch in der Kirche zum Heiligen Kreuz in 90 Bildern Geschichten aus der Bibel. Das Kleine Fastentuch von 1573 im Museum Franziskanerkloster zeigt großformatig die Kreuzigung Christi. Im ehemaligen Kloster wandelt man durch mittelalterliche Gemächer wie Kirche und Kreuzgang. In einem Anbau aus dem 17. Jh. befindet sich die ehemalige Ratsbibliothek mit einer  über Jahrhunderte gewachsene Raritätensammlung in einer barocken Kunst- und Wunderkammer. Die Klosterkirche beherbergt den einzigartigen Epitaphienschatz, eine Sammlung von Gedächtnistafeln aus dem 16. bis 18. Jh.

Städtische Museen Zittau

 

 

© 2024 Marketing-Gesellschaft
Oberlausitz-Niederschlesien mbH

Mit partnerschaftlicher Unterstützung der Landkreise Bautzen und Görlitz
sowie regionaler Sparkassen.